Columbus Tech Names Instructor of the Year -, GA News Weather & Sports

Columbus Tech Names Instructor of the Year

Instructors and departments heads at Columbus Technical college have chosen one of their own to be named instructor of the year in technical education.

Nursing instructor Lisa O'Steen will receive the Rick Perkins Award for Excellence. The award honors the Technical College System of Georgia's most outstanding instructors.

Lisa O'Steen is the winner for Columbus Tech. She's now earned a coveted reserved parking spot for one year, plus a check for $300.

O'Steen will also compete against winners from Georgia's other technical college for the ultimate title of teacher of the year in Augusta, Georgia later on this year.

The state winner will serve as Georgia's ambassador for technical education for the year, address the Georgia General Assemby on behalf of the Technical College System, and also receive a cash prize of $1,000.

O'Steen says, "It is the ultimate honor to be selected as Instructor of the Year by your peers."

She adds,  "Columbus Technical College is a great place to work and it allows instructors to focus on quality education.  It's exciting to be teaching in technical education today and to be part of a system that provides so many opportunities for diversity in education."

The Rick Perkins Award formerly known as the Commissioner's Award of Excellence has been given to educators since 1991.

Powered by Frankly