Riley Announces $18 Million Poverty Funding -, GA News Weather & Sports

Riley Announces $18 Million Poverty Funding

Press Release

MONTGOMERY, AL - Gov. Bob Riley has announced more than $18 million in federal stimulus funding aimed at helping low-income individuals and families achieve self-sufficiency and emerge from poverty.

The Community Service Block Grants were awarded to regional community service agencies which cover all 67 Alabama counties. The agencies will use the funding from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 for job training and education opportunities, providing better nutrition and housing, establishing community volunteering programs, and offering income management and credit counseling.  

"Community Service Block Grants provide a foundation of support services that help low-income residents regain their footing," Riley said. "Neighborhoods and families that are most in need are targeted by this program."

Agencies receiving grants and their service regions are:

  • $672,107 to Community Action Agency of Northwest Alabama Inc. (Colbert, Franklin and Lauderdale counties )
  • $1.15 million to Community Service Programs of West Alabama Inc. (Bibb, Fayette, Greene, Hale, Lamar and Tuscaloosa counties)
  • $284,075 to Elmore-Autauga Community Action Agency (Autauga and Elmore counties)
  • $627,149 to Alabama Council on Human Relations Inc. (Lee County)
  • $134,198 to Pickens County Community Action Committee (Pickens County )
  • $898,197 to Human Resource Development Corp. (Barbour, Coffee, Geneva, Henry and Houston counties)
  • $953,087 to Community Action Agency of Baldwin, Escambia, Clarke, Conecuh and Monroe Counties (Baldwin, Escambia, Clarke, Monroe and Conecuh counties)
  • $745,797 to Community Action Partnership of North Alabama Inc. (Cullman, Lawrence and Morgan counties)
  • $2.48 million to Jefferson County Committee for Economic Opportunity (Jefferson County)
  • $1.97 million to Mobile Community Action Agency (Mobile and Washington counties)
  • $232,122 to Marion-Winston Counties Community Action Agency Inc. (Marion and Winston counties)
  • $379,763 to Chambers-Tallapoosa-Coosa Community Action Committee Inc. (Chambers, Tallapoosa and Coosa counties)
  • $392,218 to Eleventh Area of Alabama Opportunity Action Committee Inc. (Chilton and Shelby counties)
  • $1.02 million to Community Action Agency of Talladega, Clay, Randolph, Calhoun and Cleburne Counties (Talladega, Clay, Randolph, Calhoun and Cleburne counties)
  • $414,424 to Etowah County Community Services Program Inc. (Etowah County)
  • $298,454 to Walker County Community Action Agency Inc. (Walker County)
  • $940,736 to Community Action Partnership of Huntsville, Madison and Limestone Counties Inc. (Madison and Limestone counties)
  • $1.2 million to Community Action Agency of Northeast Alabama Inc. (Blount, Cherokee, DeKalb, Jackson, Marshall and St. Clair counties.)
  • $944,481 to Organized Community Action Program Inc. (Bullock, Butler, Covington, Crenshaw, Dale, Lowndes and Pike counties)
  • $957,118 to Montgomery Community Action Committee Inc. (Montgomery County)
  • $438,970 to Macon-Russell Community Action Agency Inc. (Macon and Russell counties)
  • $1 million to Dallas-Selma Community Action and Community Development Corp. (Choctaw, Dallas, Marengo, Perry, Sumter and Wilcox counties)

Depending upon local needs, agencies will determine the specific services that will be provided with the funding. Services are based on guidelines provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services which made the funding available. The Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs is administering the awards.

Powered by Frankly