GA announces members of Water Contingency Task Force -, GA News Weather & Sports

GA announces members of Water Contingency Task Force

Press Release

ATLANTA - Governor Sonny Perdue today hosted the first meeting of the newly-formed water contingency task force and announced the business, government and environmental leaders from around the state that have agreed to serve on the group.

"I am very appreciative of the time and effort these leaders from across Georgia have committed to the important task at hand," said Governor Perdue. "I have asked this group to look at any and all possible solutions and let the facts drive their recommendations."

Thursday's first meeting of the task force focused on the history of water litigation and negotiations as well as discussion of the Governor's four-pronged approach to dealing with Judge Magnuson's July ruling. One of the strategies includes contingency planning, which is the focus of the task force.

Coca-Cola Enterprises Chairman and CEO John Brock and Tim Lowe of Lowe Engineers are serving as co-chairs of the task force, which will meet throughout the fall and present recommendations before the January 2010 legislative session.

"The Governor has named an outstanding group of leaders to serve on this task force," Brock said. "We are eager to begin work on the charge the Governor gave us today - to develop a contingency plan that considers both conservation and water supply. This issue will affect Georgia for decades to come."

"This task force brings together business, conservation and government leaders from throughout our state and it is that equal representation of all interests that will allow us to be successful," Lowe added. "To a member, this task force is committed to working together to ensure that our state is well-prepared to meet our water needs long into the future."

More than 80 leaders have agreed to serve on the task force. The members are:

Brock, John, Coca-Cola Enterprises (co-chair)
Lowe, Tim, Lowe Engineers (co-chair)
Amos, Paul, AFLAC
Anderson, Richard, Delta Air Lines
Armstrong, Kerry, Duke Realty
Bannister, Charles, Chair, Gwinnett County Commission
Barella, Jose, Merial
Bennett, John, Chair, Coosa-North Georgia Regional Water Council
Black, Gary, Georgia Agribusiness Council
Blake, Frank, The Home Depot
Blanchard, Billy, Columbus Bank and Trust
Boner, Rex, The Conservation Fund
Cagle, Casey, Lt. Governor
Carruth, Bill, Chair, Georgia Board of Natural Resources
Chase, Donald G., Chair, Upper Flint Regional Water Council
Clark, Chris, Commissioner, GA Department of Natural Resources
Collier, Darin, Worthing SE
Cornelius, Ken, Siemens
Cross, Ron C., Chair, Savannah-Upper Ogeechee Regional Water Council
Currey, Brad, Rock-Tenn Company
Davis, Scott, UPS
Dempsey, Lynn, Dempsey Auction Company
Deriso, Sonny, Atlantic Capital Bank
Dillard, Doug, Dillard & Galloway, LLC
Dunlap, Kit, Chair, Metropolitan North Georgia Water Planning District
Eason, Darvin, Chair, Suwanee-Satilla Regional Water Council
Eaves, John, Chair, Fulton County Commission
Ellis, Burrell, CEO, DeKalb County
Fischer, Christian, Georgia-Pacific
Floyd, Bill, Mayor, City of Decatur
Fox, John, Emory Healthcare
Franklin, Shirley, Mayor, City of Atlanta
Garrard, Gardiner, The Jordan Company
Garrett, Mike, Georgia Power Company
Gellerstedt, Larry, Cousins Properties
Glover, Taylor, Turner Enterprises, Inc.
Green, Steve, Stephen Green Properties, Inc.
Harbin, Ben, Chair, House Appropriations
Harris, Duane, Sea Georgia Adventures
Hatcher, Bob, MidCountry Financial Corp.
Hays, Richard, Alston & Bird
Hill, Stephen, Solvay Pharmaceuticals
Hodge, Al, Greater Rome Chamber of Commerce
Howard, Pierre, Georgia Conservancy
Hughes, Dale, Cox Enterprises
Hyland, Greg, Mueller Water Products
Jackson, Bruce, Arnall Golden Gregory
Johnston, Bob, MEAG Power
Ketchum, Mark, Newell Rubbermaid
Lakly, Shelly, The Nature Conservancy
Lanier, L. Brinson, Chair, Altamaha Regional Water Council
Lesser, Craig, The Pendleton Consulting Group
Maltese, Joe, City of LaGrange
Markwalter, Jack, Invesco
McSpadden, Richard, Chair, Upper Oconee Regional Water Council
Nash, Al, The Columns Group, Inc.
Nuti, Bill, NCR Corporation
Olens, Sam, Chair, Cobb County Commission
Pate, William, Atlanta Convention and Visitors Bureau
Poitevint, Alec, Southeastern Materials, Inc.
Price, Mike, Oglethorpe Power Corporation
Rice, John, GE
Richardson, Elmo A., Chair, Middle Ocmulgee Regional Water Council
Royal, A. Richard, Chair, Lower Flint Regional Water Council
Scheible, Dave, Graphic Packaging
Sheldon, Donna, House Majority Caucus Vice-Chair
Sitherwood, Suzanne, Atlanta Gas Light
Smith, Gary, Strategic Value Properties
Smith, Jack, Chair, Fayette County Commission
Smith, Lynn, Chair, House Natural Resources & Environment
Smith, Rick, Equifax Inc.
Stack, Tim, Piedmont Healthcare
Tankersley, Jan, Bulloch County Commissioner
Tapp, Helen, Trust for Public Land
Tarbutton, Charles, Sandersville Railroad Company
Thomas, Mike, Clayton County Water Authority
Thompson, Benjamin, Chair, Coastal Georgia Regional Water Council
Tolleson, Ross, Chair, Senate Natural Resources & Environment
Tuggle, Clyde, The Coca-Cola Company
Weber, Dan Chair, Senate Education
Wells, John, Interface Americas
Wilheit, Philip, Wilheit Packaging
Williams, Virgil, Williams Group International, Inc.
Willis, Betty, Emory University
Windom, Matt, Chair, Middle Chattahoochee Regional Water Council
Wood, Jenner, SunTrust Bank
Wood, Paul, Georgia EMC

Source: Georgia House of Representatives

Powered by Frankly