Actions taken by the Georgia Board of Massage Therapy

Press Release

MACON, GA.- The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy met on Friday, April 23, 2010.

The Board voted to approve 28 applications for licensure by application and one application for inactive status.

The following petition for waiver/variance request was presented to the Board:

  • Mary Reich Ashmore, Duluth: Rule 345-4-.02 Continuing Education Hours. Board Decision: Granted; must complete 24 hrs of on-line CE for the upcoming renewal period.

The Board voted to accept the following cease and desist orders for unlicensed practice:

  • James Richard Williams, Athens
  • Tracey Lynne, Atlanta
  • Yina Steely, Doraville
  • Sun Sultzer, Doraville
  • Hongmei Wang, Doraville
  • Hyeon J. Chae, Macon
  • Moon Ju Byun, Macon
  • Myong You Yi, Macon
  • Chun Sook, Macon
  • Hae Suk Kim, Macon
  • Yong Suk Dew, Macon
  • Kyung Hwa Kang, Macon
  • Yong Sun Oryszak, Macon
  • Piyanut Viseari, Macon
  • Ko P. Andurm, Macon
  • Kristen Berg, Monroe

The Board voted to adopt the following Board Rule:

  • Rule 345-10-.04 Unlicensed Practice: The purpose of this rule amendment is to expand the rule to contain updated Board policies with regard to disciplinary matters.

The following school was approved as a Board recognized massage therapy educational program:

  • Atlanta Beauty Academy, Doraville

The Georgia Board of Massage Therapy will hold its next meeting Friday, June 25, 2010 at 9:00 a.m. at the Professional Licensing Boards Division office in Macon.

Source:Director of Media Relations