Cam Newton named finalist for Manning Award

AUBURN – Auburn junior quarterback Cam Newton is one of 10 finalists for the Manning Award, the Allstate Sugar Bowl announced Monday.

The Manning Award is presented to the nation's outstanding quarterback and is the only quarterback award that takes the candidates' bowl performances into consideration.

Joining Newton as finalists for the award are TCU's Andy Dalton, Nevada's Colin Kaepernick, Stanford's Andrew Luck, Arkansas' Ryan Mallett, Boise State's Kellen Moore, Ohio State's Terrelle Pryor, Michigan's Denard Robinson, Oregon's Darron Thomas and Oklahoma State's Brandon Weeden.

Overall, the finalists have combined to throw for over 28,000 yards and 257 touchdowns, and rush for 5,840 yards, including three 1,000-yard rushers, with 70 touchdowns on the ground. Nine of the 10 finalists are from teams with 10 or more wins.

Newton has accounted for 43 touchdowns this season, which ranks second in the nation and tied for second in SEC history, setting Auburn single-season records for passing touchdowns (24) and rushing touchdowns

(18) while also catching a TD pass. He has accounted for at least four touchdowns in seven different games this season while setting the Auburn single-season scoring record with 114 points.

Newton ranks 11th nationally in rushing (111.3) and has set an SEC record for yards rushing by a quarterback with 1,336. He also owns the nation's second-best passing efficiency mark of 185.57.

Newton, who is also a finalist for the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien Awards, is the first player in SEC history to total 2,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing yards in a single season.

The winner of the Manning Award will be announced on Jan. 19 and will be honored at a ceremony in New Orleans.