Mayor, mayor-elect select 15 to review charter

By Web Staff – email | Facebook | Twitter 

COLUMBUS, GA (WTVM) –  The current mayor of Columbus, Jim Wetherington and mayor-elect Teresa Tomlinson have chosen 15 individuals to serve Muscogee County's Charter Review Committee.

The city reviews its charter every 10 years. 

[Web Extra! Columbus Consolidated Government Charter]

"I have known each of these individuals for a long time and I believe they will make excellent Charter Review members," said mayor Wetherington.

Mayor-elect Tomlinson stated, "Many talented and interested people want to serve on this important commission. It's encouraging to know how deeply our citizens care about Columbus and our form of government."

Members of the Charter Review Committee:

Chairman: John Shinkle

Mayor Wetherington Appointments

Rick Alexander
Mario Davis
Madden Hatcher, Jr.
Brinkley Pound
Tracy Sayers
Gloria Strode
Sam Wellborn

Mayor-elect Tomlinson Appointments:

John D. Allen
David Helmick
Julius Hunter
Melanie Slaton
Audrey Tillman
Jorge Vega
John Woodard

The last time a committee was chosen was in 2000 to review the city's charter. By the summer of the 2001, 25 residents reviewed the number of council seats in the city.

In general, the committee convenes to study the charter and propose changes. Any proposed changes will be submitted to the voters for their approval or rejection.

We'll have more on what this means for the city of Columbus beginning on News Leader 9 at Five.

©2010 WTVM. All rights reserved.