Newton named Manning Award winner for 2010 -, GA News Weather & Sports

Newton named Manning Award winner for 2010

NEW ORLEANS (AP) - Auburn quarterback and Heisman Trophy winner Cam Newton has been selected as the winner of the 2010 Manning Award.

The award, now in its seventh year, is voted on by a panel of national media and presented by the Sugar Bowl to the top quarterback in the nation.

In his lone season at Auburn, Newton led the Tigers to a 14-0 season that ended with a victory over Oregon in the BCS national championship game.

The junior from College Park, Ga., rushed for 1,473 yards and 20 touchdowns and passed for 2,854 yards and 30 TDs. He also caught a touchdown pass to account for a single-season school-record 51 touchdowns.

Newton has announced he will forego his senior season to enter the 2011 NFL draft.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Powered by Frankly