Get your pencils sharpened and get your brackets ready

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) - Ohio State, Kansas, Pittsburgh and defending champion Duke have been awarded the top seeds in this year's NCAA tournament.

The No. 1-ranked Buckeyes are the top seed in the entire 68-team field and will play their first game in the East region in Cleveland, against the winner of an opening-round game between 16th seeds Texas-San Antonio and Alabama State.

Kansas is the Big 12 champion and will open against Boston University in the Southwest.

Pitt earned a top seed in the Southeast despite losing in the quarterfinals of the Big East tournament and will play the winner of the first-round game between Arkansas-Little Rock and UNC-Asheville.

Duke beat North Carolina to win the ACC tournament and edge out Notre Dame for the last No. 1 seed. The Blue Devils are seeking to become the first repeat champion since Florida in 2006-07. They'll start their quest near home in Charlotte, with a second-round game against No. 16 Hampton in the West region.

The expanded 68-team tournament starts Tuesday with the first of four first-round games. Two of those games will pit the last of 37 at-large teams to make it into the expanded 68-team field.

The tournament concludes with the Final Four in Houston on April 2 and 4.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)