36 Alabama counties getting storm aid

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management Agency has designated five more Alabama counties for disaster relief to households and businesses affected by killer tornadoes. That brings the total number of designated counties to 36.

Gov. Robert Bentley said the new counties are Chilton, Coosa, Pickens, Shelby and Talladega.

Counties approved earlier were Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Choctaw, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Sumter, St. Clair, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Washington, Walker and Winston.

Some of the counties were affected by tornadoes on April 15 and others by tornadoes on April 27.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.