42 Alabama counties now approved for disaster aid

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - Monroe County has been approved for federal disaster aid, which brings the total number of Alabama counties covered to 42.

Assistance is available to households and businesses as part of Alabama's federal disaster declaration. Those affected can call the Federal Emergency Management Agency at 1-800-621-3362 or apply at a government website ( http://www.disasterassistance.gov).

Counties approved earlier for aid were: Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Shelby, St. Clair, Sumter, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Walker, Washington and Winston.

Some of the counties were affected by tornadoes on April 15 and others by tornadoes on April 27.

Copyright 2011 The Associated Press. .