CSU Lady Cougars Earn No. 3 Seed in NCAA Southeast Region - WTVM.com-Columbus, GA News Weather & Sports

CSU Lady Cougars Earn No. 3 Seed in NCAA Southeast Region

Indianapolis, IN – The NCAA announced the field of 48 teams for the 2010 NCAA Division II Women's Soccer Championship Monday evening, with three Peach Belt Conference schools being chosen.  Columbus State was selected as the No. 3 seed in the Southeast Region and will take on No. 6 seed Lees-McRae on Friday, November 11.

The winner of the match will take on second-seeded Lenoir-Rhyne on Sunday, November 13.

The Lady Cougars are coming off a heartbreaking 1-0 loss to Armstrong Atlantic State University in the PBC Tournament Championship match which snapped their nine game winning streak.  CSU will enter the contest with a 15-4-2 record while the Bobcats will boast a 13-4-3 mark. 

This will be the first time in five years that Columbus State did not host a First and Second Round match.

In Friday's other Southeast Regional first round matchup, No. 4 seed North Georgia (15-2-1) will take on No. 5 Wingate (16-3).  Wingate has won 15 of their last 16 matches and defeated Lenoir-Rhyne in the South Atlantic Conference Championship match this past weekend. Armstrong will take on the winner of NG/Wingate match on Sunday.

The two finalists in each region will advance to the third round to be played on Friday, November 18. The quarterfinal matchup will be on Sunday, November 20 against the champion from the South Regional. Both the third and quarterfinal rounds will hosted by the highest remaining seed from the Southeast Region.  The semifinals and championships will be played on December 1 and 3 in Pensacola, Florida.

Powered by Frankly