New burn restrictions begin in Troup County

LaGRANGE, Ga. (AP) - Six Georgia counties are now subject to new burn restrictions in 2012.

The LaGrange Daily News reports that Troup, Barrow, Bulloch, Newton, Walker and Walton counties all saw population increases to more than 65,000 after the 2010 U.S.
Census, causing the restrictions to kick in this year.
A county population of more than 65,000 triggers air-quality requirements for all land-clearing activities under the state Environmental Protection Division's open burning rules.
The rules require residents burning vegetation for land clearing to use an air-curtain destructor. The device limits the amount of smoke released into the air during the burning process.
Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.