Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation narrows TOTY to 10 -, GA News Weather & Sports

Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation narrows TOTY to top 10 finalists

2012 Teachers of the Year (Source: MEEF Facebook Page) 2012 Teachers of the Year (Source: MEEF Facebook Page)

From the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation

The Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation (MEEF) announced the top 10 finalists for the Muscogee County School District Teacher of the Year (TOTY).

Finalists were selected from the applications of 59 teachers – each named the Teacher of the Year for their respective schools. Finalists are (in no particular order):

  1. Wendy Henderson; Arnold Middle, 7th grade – Life Science
  2. Susan Wilson; Blackmon Road Middle, 6th grade – Math
  3. Shannon Crawford; Clubview Elementary, Media Specialist
  4. Margie Saunders; Columbus High, 10th grade – English, AP Art History
  5. Cammy Marchetti; Double Churches Elementary, 3rd grade
  6. Lisa Bell; Downtown Elementary, 3rd grade
  7. Vincent Snead; Hardaway High, 9th-12th grade – Band, Music
  8. Teresa Szabo; Key Elementary, 1st grade
  9. Mbonya Myers; Marshall Middle, 6th-8th grade – Engineering
  10. Judy Erb; Wynnton Elementary, 3rd grade

The MEEF Board of Directors recognizes teachers who have dedicated themselves to excellence in the classroom. Each of the Top Ten finalists will be interviewed by the MEEF Selection Committee which is made up of business and educational leaders in Muscogee County. The Top Ten will then be narrowed to the Top Three when each will get an onsite visit by the Selection Committee at their respective schools. Finally, the 2012 MCSD Teacher of the Year will be announced at the Gala on Thursday, May 3rd at the Trade Center to an expected crowd of 650 public education supporters.

The honored teacher will represent Muscogee County as a candidate for the GA TOTY. Tickets to the Gala can be purchased at RiverCenter Box Office April 16 - 27 for $35 each.

MEEF is a non-profit organization dedicated to fostering educational excellence by focusing on individual teachers who are innovative and exceptionally effective in their profession. The Foundation has awarded over $1,250,000 to innovative teachers through financial incentives in the TOTY program, the MEEF Grant program and the MEEF Endowment Fund.

Powered by Frankly