Senate committee approves 5 Auburn trustees -, GA News Weather & Sports

Senate committee approves 5 Auburn trustees

MONTGOMERY, AL (AP) - An Alabama Senate committee has approved five new trustees for the Auburn University board.

The Senate Confirmations Committee voted 8-0 Wednesday for Birmingham attorney James Pratt, Auburn banker Robert Dumas, Montgomery businessman Clark Sahlie, Mobile real estate businessman Ben Thomas Roberts, and Birmingham attorney Elizabeth Huntley, who lives in Clanton.

Committee Chairman Jabo Waggoner said he hopes to get the five approved by the full Senate on Thursday, which would complete the confirmation process.

The five will replace trustees Byron Franklin, Virginia Thompson, Bobby Lowder, Paul Spina, and the late Jack Miller.

The five were nominated by a committee that includes the governor, two current trustees and two alumni association leaders.

Last month, the Senate approved four Auburn trustees: Charles McCrary, Sarah Newton, James Sanford, and Jimmy Rane.

Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Powered by Frankly