Counties that voted no to T-SPLOST will still pay -, GA News Weather & Sports

Counties that voted no to T-SPLOST will still pay


The majority of voters in Harris County voted no to the transportation special purpose local option sales tax, or T-SPLOST.

However, Howard Johnson and others in Harris County will still pay more in taxes next year.

"That doesn't sound real good when you talk about it, but I don't know what else you can do about it if the majority voted for it," said Johnson.

 On Tuesday, the majority of the 16 counties, like Muscogee, Chattahoochee, and Marion, that make up the River Valley Region voted yes for the 1% sales tax increase.

"There are some major projects that are included in this T-SPLOST that we wouldn't have been able to do either individually as counties or as a region without this T-SPLOST," said Harry Lange, the Chairman of the Harris County Board of Commissioners.

Lange believes T-SPLOST will be a good thing for the area.

"It is going to treat the whole region with a much better traffic system so that employers and businesses will feel much more able to operate here and move to this area," said Lange.

He says on top of the projects that are definite from the tax, like the widening of parts of US 27, 25% of the almost $600 million the tax could bring into the region will be divided between the counties to use for transportation projects of their choice.

Johnson says he just did not feel like he knew enough about the tax to vote for it, but he did know one thing.

"I did know it was an extra tax. So right now, it seems like we've got an extra tax for everything that is coming around," said Johnson.

The majority of voters in Taylor and Schley Counties also voted no for the transportation tax. The 1% sales tax will go into effect in January of 2013.

Copyright 2012 WTVM. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Frankly