Historic Chattahoochee Commission to host annual meeting in Bainbridge on Sept. 27

EUFAULA, AL (WTVM) - The Historic Chattahoochee Commission (HCC) will host its 30th Annual Supper Meeting in Bainbridge, Georgia on September 27.

This year's special program will be "Rivers to the Past," a museum theatre presentation of the National Civil War Naval Museum at Port Columbus. The performance will feature four character monologues based on original letters that illustrate life during the Civil War on the Apalachicola-Chattahoochee-Flint Rivers through the eyes of those that lived through it.

Dr. Maurice Melton, Professor of History at Albany State University and author of The Best Station of Them All: The Savannah Squadron, 1861-1865, will introduce the play.

More than 100 people from throughout southeast Alabama and southwest Georgia are expected to attend this meeting, which will be held at the Kirbo Center on the campus of Bainbridge College. The event is underwritten in part by the generous sponsorship of Bainbridge Pharmacy, First Port City Bank, Clayton and Berry Penhallegon, and Reuben M. Reynolds Jr. and Sons.

Following supper, the HCC will present its prestigious Achievement Awards to individuals and organizations who have distinguished themselves in a variety of heritage tourism, education, and preservation programs in the Chattahoochee Valley. A unique state agency of Alabama and Georgia, the HCC is charged with promoting heritage tourism, history education, and historic preservation in the eighteen-county Chattahoochee Trace region.

The "Support the HCC" Silent Auction preview will begin at 5:30 p.m. EDT followed by the social hour at 6 p.m. EDT. The seated dinner will begin at 7 p.m. EDT.

Reservations may be made by mailing a check for $25 per person to HCC, Post Office Box 33, Eufaula, AL 36072-0033. The deadline for registration is September 17.

Additional information about this event is available by calling (334) 687-9755 or toll free at 1-877-766-2443 or e-mail at trace@eufaula.rr.com.

Copyright 2012 WTVM. All rights reserved.