'EZ Moves' gets a not so easy review - WTVM.com-Columbus, GA News Weather & Sports

'EZ Moves' gets a not so easy review

Posted: Updated:
  • NEWSMore>>

  • CSU set to start $3.95M renovations

    CSU set to start $3.95M renovations

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 9:51 PM EDT2014-09-17 01:51:01 GMT
    Columbus State University is making some major upgrades to one of the campus' oldest classroom buildings. The "wall breaking" ceremony was held Tuesday, Sept. 16 at Howard Hall to kick off the nearly $4 mMore >>
    Columbus State University is making some major upgrades to one of the campus' oldest classroom buildings. The "wall breaking" ceremony was held Tuesday, Sept. 16 at Howard Hall to kick off the nearly $4 million renovation project.More >>
  • Operation D.R.I.V.E. on I-85 promotes safe driving habits

    Operation D.R.I.V.E. on I-85 promotes safe driving habits

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 9:33 PM EDT2014-09-17 01:33:06 GMT
    Operation D.R.I.V.E. is a multi-state patrol on Interstate 85 which keeps an eye on unsafe driving behaviors among commercial vehicle drivers like those texting, following too closely or driving fatigued.More >>
    Operation D.R.I.V.E. is a multi-state patrol on Interstate 85 which keeps an eye on unsafe driving behaviors among commercial vehicle drivers like those texting, following too closely or driving fatigued.More >>
  • Phenix City mayor among local athletes elected to Chattahoochee Valley Sports Hall of Fame

    Phenix City mayor among local athletes elected to Chattahoochee Valley Sports Hall of Fame

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 9:28 PM EDT2014-09-17 01:28:05 GMT
    A former Crimson Tide star is heading to the Chattahoochee Sports Hall Of Fame. Former Alabama linebacker Eddie Lowe headlines the hall's Class of 2015.More >>
    A former Crimson Tide star is heading to the Chattahoochee Sports Hall Of Fame. Former Alabama linebacker Eddie Lowe headlines the hall's Class of 2015. Lowe starred at Central High School, then followed in the footsteps of older brother Woodrow to play at Alabama and became defensive captain his senior year.More >>

LOUISVILLE (WAVE) - How many times have you had to move heavy, bulky furniture? It can be a pain and even dangerous to your back. Now the 'EZ Moves' is suppose to make that move much easier and even safer, but does it really work? I put it to the test to find out.

After a viewer request, we purchased the 'EZ Moves' at a local Walgreens store. I found that it comes with eight skid pads to put under your furniture and a unique power bar that resembles more of a barbaric boomerang! However, it claims to give you 10 times your normal strength to pick up heavy furniture. Keep in mind, some assembly is required for this piece!

I tested the 'EZ Moves' first on a sofa in our newsroom. I used the power bar to lift each corner of the sofa and then slid a skid pad under each leg. The power bar seemed to work just fine in lifting the not so heavy furniture, and the skid pads did aid a bit in moving the sofa around. But, I wondered how it would work on a real heavy piece of furniture?

I found a large, heavy desk in our sports department. I used the power bar to lift the desk and installed four of the skid pads underneath. Then came the actual moving test. It wasn't that easy! It didn't seem to help all that much to me. The 'EZ Moves' allowed me to enjoy a smooth push as I almost pushed my guts out! I was lead to believe by the commercial that it would actually help take a lot of the weight off of items to make the moving around part much easier. It doesn't.

Since I wasn't real impressed with the way the 'EZ Moves' performed on a heavy piece of furniture, I decided to put it's own claim it could move a car to the test. We went to Downtown Ford for the test.

The infomercial shows a man lifting the car with the power bar, then easily moving the car with the skid pads underneath all four wheels. I somehow just knew that the power bar was NOT going to lift a car, so with the help of a showroom employee, we rolled the 2,600 pound Mustang onto the skid pads. Once in place, I pushed with all my might, but still was unable to move the car even a fraction of an inch.

So, in the end, I find that the 'EZ Moves' works well with 'light' furniture. If you plan on moving anything very heavy, I would recommend you call a few friends to help out. The 'EZ Moves' in my opinion won't do the job for heavy moving.

 

@

Copyright 2012 Copyright 2012 WAVE News. All rights reserved.

  • Most ReadMost ReadMore>>

  • Man indicted for attempted murder of Lanett police officer

    Man indicted for attempted murder of Lanett police officer

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 12:22 PM EDT2014-09-16 16:22:25 GMT
    A Chambers County grand jury has indicted Jarod Moreland for Attempted Capital Murder of a Lanett police officer.  Per Lanett Police Chief Angie Spates, in August of 2013, Moreland allegedly took policeMore >>
    A Chambers County grand jury has indicted Jarod Moreland for Attempted Capital Murder of a Lanett police officer.  Per Lanett Police Chief Angie Spates, in August of 2013, Moreland allegedly took policeMore >>
  • Father accused of killing 5 children extradited back to S. Carolina

    Father accused of killing 5 children extradited back to S. Carolina

    Thursday, September 11 2014 7:56 PM EDT2014-09-11 23:56:58 GMT
    The father accused of killing and dumping the bodies of his five children along a rural dirt road in Wilcox County, Alabama was successfully extradited back to the state of South CarolinaMore >>
    The father accused of killing and dumping the bodies of his five children along a rural dirt road in Wilcox County, Alabama was successfully extradited back to the state of South Carolina Thursday to face charges, according to local reports.More >>
  • breaking

    Missing juvenile boy located

    Missing juvenile boy located

    Tuesday, September 16 2014 12:05 PM EDT2014-09-16 16:05:39 GMT
    The Columbus Police Department has located a missing juvenile and returned him to his residence. Terrell D. Baldwin, also known as "Tank," was last seen at 513 35th Street on Wednesday, Sept. 10 2014.More >>
    The Columbus Police Department has located a missing juvenile and returned him to his residence. Terrell D. Baldwin, also known as "Tank," was last seen at 513 35th Street on Wednesday, Sept. 10 2014.More >>
Powered by WorldNow

1909 Wynnton Road
Columbus, Ga. 31906

FCC Public File
publicfile@wtvm.com
706-494-5400
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and WTVM. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.