Elizabeth City State and Tuskegee to play in Pioneer Bowl XIV - WTVM.com-Columbus, GA News Weather & Sports

Elizabeth City State and Tuskegee to play in Pioneer Bowl XIV

COLUMBUS, Ga. – The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) and the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) have announced that Elizabeth City State University and Tuskegee University have been selected to participate in the 14th Pioneer Bowl. The game will take place on Saturday, December 1 at A.J. McClung Stadium at 1:00pm (EST).

The Elizabeth City State University Vikings, led by Head Coach Waverly Tillar, finished first in the CIAA Northern Division and vied for the CIAA Championship title for the second consecutive year. The Vikings are currently 7-4 overall record, 6-1 in conference play. "We are excited that Elizabeth City State University will represent the CIAA in the Pioneer Bowl. Their tremendous season and record will bring forth great competition against Tuskegee, for the fans and the Columbus community," comments new CIAA Commissioner Jacqie Carpenter.   

Tuskegee is coming off a 55-18 victory over Fort Valley State in the SIAC Championship Game, played last week at Lakewood Stadium in Atlanta. Under the direction of sixth-year head coach Willie Slater, No. 14 Tuskegee has won nine consecutive games en route to earning its 26th SIAC Football Championship. Led by Harlon Hill Trophy candidate Derrick Washington, Tuskegee is currently 9-1 overall and 8-0 in conference play.

"The City of Columbus and its Sports Council has been very supportive and welcoming to both the CIAA and SIAC, in hosting the Pioneer Bowl for the last two years," said SIAC Commissioner Greg Moore. "Last year, Johnson C. Smith and Miles provided an electric and exciting atmosphere and we expect the same this year with Elizabeth City State and Tuskegee's success this season."

Tuskegee will be making its ninth appearance in the Pioneer Bowl while Elizabeth City State will make its second appearance in this historical game. The Golden Tigers have won eight Pioneer Bowl titles, with their last coming in a 21-7 victory over Elizabeth City State in 2009.

The Pioneer Bowl, established in 1997, is the only NCAA-sanctioned Division II bowl game involving HBCU athletic conferences. Last year, Johnson C. Smith defeated Miles 35-33 in the Pioneer Bowl XIII, played at AJ McClung Stadium.

Powered by Frankly