MEEF announces Teacher of the Year 2013 nominees -, GA News Weather & Sports

MEEF announces Teacher of the Year 2013 nominees

The winner will be announced at a gala at the Columbus Convention and Trade Center on May 2. The winner will be announced at a gala at the Columbus Convention and Trade Center on May 2.
WTVM's General Manager Lee Brantley WTVM's General Manager Lee Brantley
MEEF is a non-profit organization. MEEF is a non-profit organization.

You could call them the "rock stars" of Muscogee County public education - the 59 nominees for "Teacher of the Year" were announced Wednesday night by the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation by WTVM's General Manager Lee Brantley. 

Nominees are determined by each of the district's schools and will be honored throughout the year.  

The winner will be announced at a gala at the Columbus Convention and Trade Center on May 2.

MEEF is a non-profit organization that focuses on helping individual teachers who are exceptionally effective in their profession.

The Foundation has awarded more than $1.2 million to innovative teachers through financial incentives in the TOTY program, the MEEF Grant program and the MEEF Endowment Fund. 

This year's list of Teacher of the Year nominees:

James Brooks
Academic Success Center

Susan Elder
Allen Elementary

Ronda Allen
Arnold Magnet Academy

Rodolfo Perez
Baker Middle

Piper Hudmon
Blackmon Road Middle

Robert Ogburn
Blanchard Elementary

Stephanie Marley
Brewer Elementary

Kim Lester
Britt David Magnet Academy

Annette Williams
Carver High

Carol Wink
Clubview Elementary

Sonya Allen
Columbus High

Marilyn Wilson
Cusseta Road Elementary

Willie Mae Wade
J.D. Davis Elementary

Tamika Freeman
Dawson Elementary

Kathryn Stein Kemp
Dimon Elementary Magnet Academy

Wendye Melzar
Double Churches Elementary

Brian Hale
Double Churches Middle

Nicholas Goff
Downtown Elementary Magnet Academy

Amy Griffis
Eagle Ridge Academy

Christy Grigsby
Early College Academy of Columbus

Deborah Robertson
East Columbus Magnet Academy

Teresea Marvets
Eddy Middle

Mary Jones
Edgewood Elementary

Tracy Barnes
Forrest Road Elementary

Natasha Anderson
Fort Magnet Academy

Amanda Patel
Fox Elementary

Ellen Lane
Gentian Elementary

Treniece McJunkins
Georgetown Elementary

Nancy Willis
Hannan Elementary Magnet Academy

Brenda Howell
Hardaway High

Brittany Heimlich
Johnson Elementary

Rachael DuBois
Jordan High

Josiah Sumbry
Kendrick High

Sironda Peters
Key Elementary

Jennifer Langford
Lonnie Jackson Academy

Gabrielle Bryant
Marshall Middle

Candice Watson
Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary

Donna Vaughan
Mathews Elementary

Candace Burkhalter
Midland Academy

Jennifer Bray
Midland Middle

Doran Yvette
Sall Muscogee Elementary

Candace Turner
North Columbus Elementary

Jennifer Sappington
Northside High

Vanessa Caldwell
Reese Road Leadership Academy

Lindsey Barker
Richards Middle

Rosie Reynolds
Rigdon Road Elementary

Lela Snead
River Road Elementary

Jeffery Jones
Rose Hill Center/Daniel

Les Cole
Rothschild Middle

Lynda Kannady
Shaw High

Rachel Wilson
South Columbus Elementary

Lamont Sheffield
Spencer High

Benjamin Foust
St. Elmo Center for the Gifted

Maris Walls
St. Marys Elementary Magnet Academy

Blair Tucker
Veterans Memorial Middle

Hanna Williams
Waddell Elementary

Amber Hurley
Wesley Heights Elementary

Theresa Price
Woodall Program

Sherrie Meadows
Wynnton Arts Academy

Additional link: 

Copyright 2013 WTVM. All rights reserved. 


Powered by Frankly