Three Cougars named to Tino Martinez Award watch list -, GA News Weather & Sports

Three Cougars named to Tino Martinez Award watch list

OMAHA, Neb. – A trio of Columbus State baseball players were named to the initial watch list for the fourth annual Tino Martinez Division II Player of Year award Monday afternoon. 

Graduate student Ryan Lewis and seniors Brodie Leibrandt and Brett Teschner were included on the list that feature 150 student-athletes from across the nation. 

After missing the entire 2012 season, Lewis has started the season off strong hitting .346 through the first seven games. He has scored nine runs, collected two doubles and has driven in eight. 

In 2012, Teschner led CSU in almost every offensive category and he has picked up where he left off in 2013. The senior has recorded a hit in six of the seven games so far this season and holds a .414 batting average. He is leading the team in on-base percentage with a .469 mark and has four doubles to go along with seven RBIs. 

The ace of the Columbus State staff, Leibrandt is off to a decent start to the season. In two starts, he has pitched 12.1 innings while allowing six earned runs. He has limited opponents to just a .227 batting average against and has not recorded a decision. 

The Tino Martinez Division II Player of the Year award will be given out at the 2013 Division II College World Series in Carey, North Carolina. A panel of media, coaches and sports information directors will be polled to finalize the final candidates and determine a winner. A fan internet vote will also contribute to the final tally. 

Columbus State will have a busy week as they host a two-game mid-week series against No. 11 Tampa on Wednesday February 13 and Thursday February 14. First pitch on Wednesday will be at 4:00 p.m. at Ragsdale Field. 

Powered by Frankly