Ala. Extension System helps to promote Yellow Dot Program

Ala. Extension System helps to promote Yellow Dot Program

(WTVM) - The Yellow Dot program is designed to help citizens and first responders during those critical minutes following a car accident when victims might not be able to respond.

Now, the Alabama Cooperative Extension System and Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs have partnered to introduce the Yellow Dot Program to the Auburn University campus.

"The mission of Extension is to provide research based information to help people improve their economy and quality of life," explains Alabama Cooperative Extension System Director Dr. Gary Lemme. "Well this helps keep our citizens safe. This helps if they're in a terrible accident that they're going to get the best help that they can."

The "Yellow Dot" provides detailed medical information that can be crucial following a car crash and registering is easy and free.

Participants place a Yellow Dot decal on the lower left corner of a vehicle's rear window which alerts first responders to check in the glove compartment for the corresponding folder.

The folder contains your photo, emergency contacts, pre-existing medical conditions, and current medications.

"The most beneficial thing is getting treatment that you need and as fast as they can get it without delay," explains Randy Cerovsky of AU's Department of Public Safety and Security.

The program was originally targeted for elderly drivers;, however, now officials want to gear the program toward the younger generation, especially college students, living far away from home.

"Professors here travel a lot of the time and it's beneficial to them to where they can list their department head if something happens so the university so that the university is notified of life-threatening situations dealing with their faculty, staff or students," says Cervosky.

Lee County Yellow Dot sign-up locations include:

  • The Revenue Commissioner's Satellite Office on Mall Parkway in Auburn.
  • Auburn Department of Public Safety on Ross Street.
  • Lee County Sheriff's Office on Frederick Road in Opelika.
  • Revenue Commissioner's Office at the Court House on 9th Street in Opelika.
  • Opelika Fire Department on Avenue B.
  • Revenue Commissioner's Satellite Office on Lee Road 430 in Smith Station.

Copyright 2013 WTVM. All rights reserved.