Official 2013 local election results

(WTVM) - Georgia residents headed out to the polls yesterday to vote for some key municipal races, including choosing mayors in several towns.

In Harris County, the Special Purpose Sales Tax (SPLOST) was approved by a landslide: 1,277 voted in favor and 397 voted against.

This tax helps to fund the expansion and construction of a new library, public water system improvements and the construction of roads and buildings.

Officials say there were no problems at Harris County polls, but there was a very low turnout. Only 9 percent of the population voted.

Jim Trott defeated Joe Manning for Mayor of Pine Mountain 150 votes to 75.

He will take office on Jan. 1.

We have unofficial reports from Troup County. Jim Thornton defeated Jimmy McCamey and Mike Smith and will be the new Mayor of LaGrange.

In Hogansville, Bill Stankiewicz is the new Mayor, defeating Bobby Joe Frazier.

In Talbot County's city of Woodland, the incumbent Mayor James Carter defeated Ken McFauland and Geraldine Brown for the position.

We are still waiting for results for the Hamilton city council election and West Point Mayor election.

Copyright 2013 WTVM. All rights reserved.