Alabama releases list of failing schools

(WTVM) - The Alabama Department of Education has released a list of school that it considers to be failing as determined by the Alabama Accountability Act.

Under the Act, students who attend failing schools are allowed to transfer to another school in the same district. Parents can also receive a tax credit to transfer their children to a private school.

Here is the full list. Local schools are in bold:

Anniston City Anniston Middle School
Barbour County Barbour County Intermediate School
Barbour County Barbour County Junior High School
Bessemer City Bessemer City High School
Birmingham City Bush K-8
Birmingham City Green Acres Middle School
Birmingham City Martha Gaskins K-5
Birmingham City WE Putnam Middle School-Magnet
Birmingham City Ossie Ware Mitchell Middle School
Birmingham City Arrington Middle School
Birmingham City Wylam K-8
Birmingham City Hayes K-8 (formerly Whatley K-8 School)
Bullock County Bullock County High School
Chambers County Lafayette Eastside Elementary School
Chambers County Lafayette High School
Chambers County John P Powell Middle School
Cullman County Cullman Child Development Center
Dallas County Brantley Elementary School
Dallas County Keith Middle-High School
Dallas County Southside High School
Dallas County Tipton Durant Middle School
Decatur City Brookhaven Middle School
Fairfield City Forest Hills Middle School
Gadsden City Litchfield Middle School
Greene County Greene County High School
Greene County Carver Middle School
Hale County Greensboro High School
Henry County Abbeville High School
Huntsville City SR Butler High School
Huntsville City Chapman Middle School
Huntsville City Martin Luther King Jr Elementary School
Huntsville City Davis Hills Middle School
Huntsville City Edward White Middle School
Huntsville City JO Johnson High School
Huntsville City Lakewood Elementary School
Huntsville City James Dawson Elementary
Huntsville City Westlawn Middle School
Jefferson County Center Point High School
Lanett City Lanett Junior High School
Linden City George P Austin Junior High School
Linden City Linden Elementary School
Lowndes County Hayneville Middle School
Lowndes County Lowndes County Middle School
Macon County Notasulga High School
Macon County Tuskegee Institute Middle School
Marengo County John Essex High School
Marengo County Marengo High School
Midfield City Midfield High School
Mobile County Jeremiah A Denton Middle School
Mobile County Booker T Washington Middle School
Mobile County Mae Eanes Middle School
Mobile County Mobile County Training Middle School
Mobile County CL Scarborough Middle School
Mobile County Augusta Evans School
Montgomery County Bellingrath Middle School
Montgomery County Brewbaker Middle School
Montgomery County Capitol Heights Middle School
Montgomery County Floyd Elementary School
Montgomery County Goodwyn Middle School
Montgomery County McKee Middle School
Montgomery County Southlawn Middle School
Montgomery County Children's Center
Perry County Francis Marion High School
Pickens County Pickens County High School
Russell County Russell County Middle School
Selma City R.B.Hudson Middle School
Shelby County Linda Nolen Learning Center
Sumter County Kinterbish Junior High School
Sumter County North Sumter Junior High School
Sumter County York West End Junior High School
Talladega City Zora Ellis Junior High School
Tuscaloosa City Central High School
Tuscaloosa City Westlawn Middle School
Tuscaloosa County Davis-Emerson Middle School
Washington County McIntosh High School
Wilcox County Camden School Of Arts & Technology