Gov. Deal storm preparation press conference -, GA News Weather & Sports

Gov. Deal holds storm preparation press conference

Posted: Updated:
(WTVM) -

At noon, Governor Nathan Deal helding a press conference to discuss emergency winter preparation plans ahead of the icy storm.

Governor Deal convened the operations command, which consists of directors from multiple agencies including emergency departments, health departments, and power companies.

At 3:00 p.m. today, he will activate the state operations center, which will operate until the emergency response ends.

The Governor declared state of emergencies for 45 counties in Georgia. Those counties are:

Murray, Fannin, Gilmer, Union, Towns, Pickens, Dawson, Lumpkin, White, Cherokee, Forsyth, Hall, Banks, Jackson, Dade, Walker, Catoosa, Whitfield, Chattooga, Gordon, Floyd, Bartow, Polk, Paulding, Cobb, Fulton, Gwinnett, Barrow, Haralson, Carroll, Douglas, DeKalb, Clarke, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Wilkes, Walton, Rabun, Habersham, Stephens, Franklin, Hart, Madison, Elbert and Lincoln counties.

RELATED: Winter weather expected across some parts of Georgia

Copyright 2014 WTVM. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

1909 Wynnton Road
Columbus, Ga. 31906

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and WTVM. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.