Elected Columbus officials sworn in

COLUMBUS, GA (WTVM) - Columbus Mayor Teresa Tomlinson and other elected officials were sworn in Tuesday, Jan. 6 at the council chambers in Columbus.

Several council members, such as Jerry "Pops" Barnes, Bruce Huff, Mike Baker and several others also took an oath of office Tuesday afternoon. This is Mayor Tomlinson's second term. She says the real business of governing for the elected officials begins next week.

"Tonight is just an organization meeting and proclamation session, so we will be talk about great things going on community," said Mayor Tomlinson. "Starting next Tuesday business really begins...you can see us doing good government people come to accept."

The swearing in was administered by Superior Court Judge Gil McBride.

Copyright 2015 WTVM. All rights reserved.