Georgia counties share car seat mini grant -, GA News Weather & Sports

Georgia counties share car seat mini grant

Father buckles child into car seat (Source: AP Graphics) Father buckles child into car seat (Source: AP Graphics)
(WTVM) - The Georgia Department of Public Health's (DPH), Injury Prevention Program is pleased to announce the 2015 recipients of the Child Passenger Safety Mini-Grant.  

The Child Passenger Safety Mini-Grant program helps county health departments and their community partners reduce the number of injuries and deaths among children in Georgia. 

This year's $161,000 award will be used to support the purchase of car seats to be distributed in 137 Georgia counties. Funding for these efforts is provided by the Governor's Office of Highway Safety (GOHS). 

Since 2007, at least 283 children in Georgia who were involved in crashes were saved from serious injury or death by car seats, booster seats, and education provided through the Mini-Grant. 

"Motor vehicle crashes are a leading cause of death for children and it's up to all of us to do everything we can to protect our children on the road," said Brenda Fitzgerald, M.D., commissioner of the Georgia Department of Public Health. "Buckling up our children is the best way to save lives and reduce injuries." 

Throughout Georgia, DPH and county health departments work with community partners to educate parents and caregivers on how to properly install and use car seats, offer car seat inspections and provide car seats and booster seats to financially eligible families. 

Through the Car Seat Mini-Grant, agencies supporting more than 135 counties are working to keep Georgia's children safe. These programs help families get their children buckled up right, every trip, every time.

DPH takes great pride in providing opportunities to enhance community outreach programs in Georgia. For more information on the child Occupant Safety Project, please email or call the office at 404-679-0500. 

Additional information regarding county contacts can be found at: and scroll through the main page attachments.

The 2015 Mini Grant Awardees are:

Appling, Atkinson, Baker, Baldwin, Barrow, Bartow, Ben Hill, Bibb,  Bleckley, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke,  Calhoun, Camden, Candler, Carroll, Catoosa, Charlton, Chatham, Chattahoochee, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Clinch, Cobb, Coffee, Colquitt, Columbia,  Cook, Crawford, Crisp, Dade, Dawson, Decatur, DeKalb, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Douglas, Early, Effingham, Elbert, Emanuel, Evans, Fannin, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gilmer,  Glascock, Glynn, Gordon, Grady, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Haralson, Harris, Hart, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Lanier, Laurens, Lee, Liberty, Lincoln, Long, Lowndes, Lumpkin, Macon, Madison, Marion, McDuffie, McIntosh, Meriwether, Miller, Mitchell, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Pulaski, Rabun, Richmond, Rockdale, Schley, Screven, Seminole, Spalding, Stephens, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taliaferro, Tattnall, Telfair, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Toombs,  Treutlen, Troup, Twiggs, Union, Upson,  Walton, Ware, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, White, Whitfield, Wilcox, Wilkes, Wilkinson, and Worth. 

Copyright 2015 WTVM. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Frankly