Top 10 finalists selected in MEEF Teacher of the Year Program

Top 10 finalists selected in MEEF Teacher of the Year Program

MUSCOGEE COUNTY, GA (WTVM) - The Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation (MEEF) has announced the Top Ten finalists for the Muscogee County School District Teacher of the Year.

Finalists were selected from the applications of 56 teacher honorees – each named the Teacher of the Year (TOTY) for their respective schools.

The finalists are as follows:

Lynn Robertson

7th grade Science

Aaron Cohn Middle School

Aleatha Thrush

K-5th grade Art

Britt David Elementary Magnet Academy

Jeffrey Pearce

10-12th grade Pre-AP Physics, Chemistry, AP Chemistry

Columbus High School

Pagianna Boykin

4th grade Math

Dorothy Height Elementary School

Beth Horner


Downtown Elementary Magnet Academy

Oliver Ellis

7th grade Life Science

Fort Middle School

Sheryl Green

10th grade English Literature, Yearbook

Jordan High School

Karen McDavid

3rd grade

Midland Academy

Ebony Robinson

3rd grade

North Columbus Elementary

Isiah Harper

9-12th grade Theatre

Northside High School

MEEF recognizes teachers who have dedicated themselves to excellence in the classroom. The Top Ten finalists will be interviewed by the MEEF Selection Committee, which is made up of business and educational leaders in Columbus. After the interviews, the Selection Committee will select the Top Three finalists, who will then be observed in their classrooms.

The 2015 MCSD Teacher of the Year will be announced at the Gala on Thursday, May 7 at the Trade Center to an expected crowd of 800 supporters of excellence in education.

The gala is open to the public and tickets to the Gala can be purchased at Springer Box Office April 13 - 24 for $35 each.

The Selection Committee members include MEEF Board members, community leaders and former MCSD Teachers of the Year including: Chair: Carole Rutland - Coordinator - Coalition of Sound Growth; Steve Davis – President – Columbus Water Works; Warren Steele– Chairman of the Board – Columbus Regional Health; Joe Mills – Cornerstone Literacy -- MCSD TOTY 2002; Bill Murphy Executive Vice President Economic Development Greater Columbus Chamber; Kim Lester – MCSD – 2013 TOTY; Marquette McKnight – CEO - Media, Marketing ... and More! Inc. and Rodney Close CEO - Girls and Boys Club of the Chattahoochee Valley.

MEEF is a non-profit organization dedicated to fostering educational excellence by focusing on individual teachers who are innovative and exceptionally effective in their profession in the Muscogee County School district. The Foundation has awarded over $1.9 million to innovative teachers in

MCSD, through financial incentives in the TOTY program, the MEEF Grant program and the MEEF Endowment Fund, the STEM-T3 program, the Harvard Fellows program and the Harvard Project Zero Induction program.