Principals appointed at Muscogee County School Board Meeting

Principals appointed at Muscogee County School Board Meeting

MUSCOGEE COUNTY, GA (WTVM) - The school year may be coming to an end, but Muscogee County School District officials are preparing for next year by appointing new principals to several schools.

The board unanimously approved Barbara Weaver as the new principal of Martin Luther King Jr. Elementary School, Amy Parker as the new Principal of Reese Road Leadership Academy, and Dawn Harper as the new principal of South Columbus Elementary.

The board also approved a proposed SPLOST Phase list for the 2015 SPLOST funds.

Replacing Spencer High School and retrofitting existing space to accommodate autistic programming are three projects included in Phase I.

The second of three public hearings to discuss the adoption of a millage rate for fiscal year 2016 was also held Monday night.

The tax is based on growth or newcomers to the tax digest and non-homestead properties, which mean existing homeowners with homestead, will not be affected by the move if approved. Homestead relieves the burden of paying full ad valorem or property taxes. Fuller says the millage rate for which these reductions are competed has not changed in 19 years.

But if that rate does go up by 1.50 percent as proposed by the school board, it will mean a minimal increase in overall property tax digest dollars not your individual taxes.

The final public hearing on the matter will be held June 1 at 5 p.m.

Copyright 2015 WTVM. All Rights Reserved