Muscogee County schools on list of REACH programs for underprivi -, GA News Weather & Sports

Muscogee County schools on list of REACH programs for underprivileged kids

(Source: REACH Georgia) (Source: REACH Georgia)

(WTVM) – A pilot program aimed at 'reaching' low-income, academically promising Georgia students and preparing them for the world outside the classroom is expanding.

Muscogee County is one of 25 new school systems just added to the list.

The program is called REACH, or Realizing Educational Achievement Can Happen. Qualifying students can earn up to $10,000 in scholarship money.

Georgia Governor Nathan Deal says the goal is to eventually include all 180 school districts in the state.

Other area school systems added include Clay, Meriwether, and Stewart counties. The list of all the school systems included on the REACH list for the 2016-2017 school year includes:

  • Bibb County      
  • McIntosh County
  • Bleckley County
  • Meriwether County
  • Calhoun County
  • Murray County
  • Clay County       
  • Muscogee County
  • Dalton City Schools         
  • Putnam County
  • Dougherty County          
  • Randolph County
  • Elbert County   
  • Stewart County
  • Gainesville City Schools
  • Tattnall County
  • Gordon County
  • Union County
  • Hall County        
  • Valdosta City Schools
  • Irwin County     
  • Wayne County
  • Jasper County   
  • White County
  • Jefferson County            

Copyright 2016 WTVM. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Frankly