Four area teachers are finalists for Teacher of The Year -, GA News Weather & Sports

Four area teachers are finalists for Teacher of The Year

(Source: WSFA 12) (Source: WSFA 12)

Sixteen teachers from around Alabama have been selected as finalists for the 2017 Alabama Teacher of the Year award. Four of those educators are from the River Region. 

Charlotte D. Hartley of the Dothan City School System and Jean Renea Allen from the Pike Road City School System are two of the 8 finalists in the elementary school teacher category. 

Emily S. Sassano from the Alexander City School System and Monica Pontoo from the Bullock County School System are both finalists in the secondary school teacher category.

Alabama State Superintendent of Education Michael Sentance states, "Well-prepared, dedicated, caring, enthusiastic, and innovative elementary and secondary teachers are essential to achieving excellence in Alabama’s schools. The 16 Alabama Teacher of the Year finalists are shining examples of professionalism and dedication to Alabama’s most valued asset – its children.”

The Alabama Teacher of the Year will spend the majority of the school year serving as an ambassador for education alongside teaching workshops to different groups. The Alabama Teacher of the Year is also a candidate for the National Teacher of the Year. 

Alabama's current Teacher of the Year, Dana Jacobson, says serving as the 2016-2017 Alabama Teacher of the Year has been an honor and a privilege. 

"This year has been one of the top learning experiences of my life and has validated what I believe: Visionary teachers across the state – with support from courageous administrators – are collaborating to find innovative ways to engage students and prepare them for success in the future, and layers of resources to support teachers and students yield amazing results,” said Jacobson.

The list of finalists will be narrowed down to four, then the Alabama State Board of Education and the Alabama State Department of Education will announce the 2017-2018 Teacher of the Year.

The event will take place on May 10, at 6 p.m. at the RSA Terrace in Montgomery.  

Copyright 2017 WSFA 12 News. All rights reserved. 

Powered by Frankly