Georgia's "Teacher of the Year" to be announced Monday

Georgia's "Teacher of the Year" to be announced Monday
(Source: Raycom Media)

ATLANTA (AP/WTVM) - Georgia's Department of Education will recognize a special teacher this week.

The 2018 "Teacher of the Year" will be announced at an event on Monday in Pine Mountain. The program began in 1971 and recognizes an exceptional public school teacher each year based on nominations from local school superintendents.

A panel of judges including teachers, past winners of the award and administrators chose 10 finalists out of 150 applicants. Judges then listen to speeches and hold interviews with the finalists.

The teacher chosen for the recognition works with the Department of Education for a full year, including appearances at conferences and giving workshops to fellow educators.

Here are the 2018 Georgia Teacher of the Year Finalists
  • Gerald Kosoff, AP Calculus, AP Statistics, KIPP Atlanta Collegiate, Atlanta Public Schools
  • Dominique Vidal Nichols, World Literature, AP English Literature and Composition, Westside High, Bibb County Schools
  • Paulette M. Allard, Honors Biology and Forensic Science, Harrison High, Cobb County Schools
  • Suzette Weinhardt, Mathematics, Accelerated Geometry, Algebra 2, Pre-Calculus, Sandy Creek High, Fayette County Schools
  • Jamie Lynn McFarland, Grades 3-5 Severe/Profound Intellectual Disabilities, Rock Springs Elementary, Gwinnett County Schools
  • Susan Donlin, Adapted Curriculum, Marietta Middle, Marietta City Schools
  • Dr. K. Paige Cole, AP United States Government and U.S. History, North Oconee High, Oconee County Schools
  • Jonathan Deen, American Government, Dual Enrollment U.S. and World History, Putnam County High, Putnam County Schools
  • Laura Gerlach, 5th Grade, Furlow Charter School of Sumter County
  • John R. Tibbetts, Economics, Worth County High, Worth County Schools

Last year's winner, Casey Bethel, teaches Advanced Placement physics and biology and physical science at a high school in Douglasville.

Copyright 2017 The Associated Press/WTVM. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.