Additional schools eligible for free meals in Muscogee County

Additional schools eligible for free meals in Muscogee County

COLUMBUS, GA (WTVM) - The Muscogee County School District is expanding the number of Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) schools for the 2017-2018 school year from 38 to 41 schools.

Blanchard Elementary, Midland Academy, and Shaw High School are new additions to the list of CEP schools.

CEP is a provision established by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) and part of the Healthy, Hunger Free Kids Act of 2010, which allows all children who attend a CEP school to eat breakfast and lunch at no charge.

CEP eligible schools must have at least 40 percent of students directly certified by the State of Georgia as a homeless child, a foster child, a recipient of the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) or Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF).

In addition, 40 percent of the students identified who are eligible can be calculated by individual school, groups of schools, or the entire district.

Groups of schools can be any combination of schools in the district.  The students who are eligible are based on data as of April 1 for the previous school year.

There are 13 MCSD schools that are non-CEP schools including

  • Aaron Cohn Middle School
  • Blackmon Road Middle School
  • Britt David Magnet Academy
  • Clubview Elementary School
  • Columbus High School
  • Double Churches Elementary School
  • Eagle Ridge Academy
  • Mathews Elementary School
  • Midland Middle School
  • North Columbus Elementary School
  • Northside High School
  • Rainey-McCullers School of the Arts
  • Veterans Memorial Middle School

Parents of students who attend non-CEP schools may complete an application for free and reduced meals to determine eligibility.

Copyright 2017 WTVM. All rights reserved. | For more news, download the WTVM app here.