A Wrap Up of Elections in Our Local Area

TAD is a no go for Columbus, Talbotton City Council keeps 3 incumbent members, and West Point gets a new mayor and a former fire chief will be returning.

In Columbus, nearly 11,000 voters cast their ballots in the special election on Tax Allocation Districts. 51% voted No while 49% voted Yes. Some voters told News Leader 9 they voted no because they did not understand the issue.


In Talbotton, 3 incumbent city council members were up for reelection. Fred Cotton, Wilbur Byrd and Willy Leonard will remain on the city council. The county wide Special Local Option Sales Tax or SPLOST was passed Tuesday evening with 416 voting yes and 116 voting no. The sales tax will increase 1%.


In West Point, incumbent Mayor Billy Head was beaten by Dr. Drew Ferguson IV, a local dentist. Ferguson won by 368 votes. Two incumbent city council members, Sandra Thornton and Don Gilliam, will remain in their seats. Former West Point Fire Chief Gary Harrison won his first four-year term on the council.