Student athletes honored at Student Athlete Achievement Banquet

Published: Mar. 28, 2012 at 4:35 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Columbus (WTVM) - Area middle and high school athletes were honored by Columbus Regional at the Student Athlete Achievement Banquet Tuesday at the Columbus Trade and Convention Center. One male and female athlete from 34 schools received an award for their dedication to their sports as well as the community.

Four athletes received the Above and Beyond Award: Emily Harvey from Faith Middle School, Garrett McGlamory from St. Luke School, Hendley Badcock from Brookstone and Terrance Tarver from Shaw.

Harvey is a volleyball and soccer player at Faith Middle School. At the end of the soccer season, she received the Captain's Award, which is voted on by her teammates. She volunteers at Open Door Community House and participates in Help the Hooch every year.

McGlamory plays basketball, golf, tennis and baseball. Among the many honors that he has received are the Principal's Award, "Living the Values" Award for St. Luke School, National Physical Fitness Award, and he's a member of the National Junior Honor Society. McGlamory has volunteered at the Ronald McDonald House, Open Door, Valley Rescue Mission, Help the Hooch, and Crosspointe Church's Chicken and Rice Ministry.

Badcock is a four-year member of Brookstone's Varsity Tennis team. She was named to the All-Region and All Bi-City Tennis Teams. Badcock is a member of the National Honor Society and the Cum Laude Society, which means she is in the top 20% of her class. Among her many community activities, she serves on the CORTA Tennis Teen Council, acts as a tennis instructor for Girls Inc, and works with Habitat for Humanity.

Shaw Senior Terrance Tarver was the first recipient of the "Big T" Student Athlete of the Year award, the Ledger-Enquirer 1st Team All Bi-City Football Team as center, and was named Most Academic on the football and the wrestling team. Tarver volunteered at the Columbus Library, at Double Churches and Blackmon Road Middle School Field Days, and assisted Special Education students in preparing for the Special Olympics.

2012 Student Athlete Achievement Banquet Award Winners

Arnold Magnet Academy

Donald Williams, Jr.

Shardonee Hayes

Baker Middle School

Lorenzo Madden

Jania Perez

Blackmon Road Middle School

Blake Hicks

Summer Hargraves

Brookstone Middle School

Prather Hudson

Chandler Ciuba

Brookstone High School

Drew McCluskey

Hendley Badcock

Calvary Christian Middle School

Cal McGaan

Lauren Miller

Calvary Christian High School

Caleb Ashburn

McKenzie Bragg

Carver High School

Timothy Whately

Kendra Weeks

Central High School

Jonathan Wallace

Carsen McDonald

Columbus High School

Ryan Lang

Madison See

Double Churches Middle School

Noah Churchwell

Zacirriya Humphries

East Columbus Magnet Academy

Amarkion Sharpe

Brandis Jackson

Eddy Middle School

Adrick Lee

Shuntrice King

Faith Middle School

Andrew Sargent

Emily Harvey

Fort Middle School

Donald Johnson, Jr.

Erykah Maxwell

Hardaway High School

Albert Bemiss

Kymberly Ellison

Harris County Carver Middle School

Jacob Rovig

Rachel Howard

Harris County High School

Jordan Jenkins

Bianca Brochu

Jordan High School

Brandon Simmons

Tiouana Griggs

Kendrick High School

Marvin Lewis

Kahlia Lawrence

Marshall Middle School

Stefan Harris

Keyondria Davis

Midland Middle School

Caleb Johnson

Emmitt Brown

Northside High School

Jalen Lacy

Kayla Parsons

Richards Middle School

William Fuller

Amy Darrah

Rothschild Middle School

Zachary Jarrell Taylor

Shantavia Whittlesey

Russell County Middle School

Kenneth Barnes

Mercedes Brown

Shaw High School

Terrance Tarver

Andrea Takemoto

Smiths Station Junior High

Cole Harris

Aly Smith

Smiths Station High School

Brandon Powell

Jessica Adams

Spencer High School

Donald Crayton

Tierra Crayton

St. Anne-Pacelli Middle School

Bailey McKee

Rida de'Rojas

St. Anne-Pacelli High School

Harrison Sharitt

Katie Hammonds

St. Luke School

Garrett McGlamory

Madison Fleming

Veterans Memorial Middle School

Brandon Palmer

Brittany Floyd