St. Francis becomes first organization in Georgia to join Mayo Clinic Care Network

Published: Nov. 13, 2013 at 3:55 PM EST|Updated: Nov. 14, 2013 at 5:52 AM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

COLUMBUS, GA (WTVM) - St. Francis announced today, Nov. 13, that the hospital is becoming the first organization in Georgia to join the Mayo Clinic Care Network.

St. Francis will continue to be independently owned and operated, but as part of the network, will benefit from the Mayo Clinic's knowledge and expertise.

"St. Francis is proud to be a Mayo Clinic Care Network member," says Robert Granger, president and CEO of St. Francis. "As part of the Mayo Clinic Care Network, our physicians will be able to reach out to Mayo Clinic specialists as they consider the care needs for their patients. This collaboration is a continuation of St. Francis' commitment of doing what is best for health care in our community and will enhance patient care for the citizens of Columbus and the Chattahoochee Valley."

"We are pleased to welcome St. Francis, an award-winning regional hospital that is continuously recognized for providing outstanding patient care, as a member of the Mayo Clinic Care Network," says Stephen Lange, M.D., Southeast medical director of the Mayo Clinic Care Network. "We look forward to working closely with St. Francis to help them continue to provide the highest quality of care and best possible outcomes for their patients."

St. Francis employs more than 2,300 associates with more than 300 community physicians (100 employed) through the St. Francis Medical Group. The hospital opened in 1950 and is currently licensed for 376 beds.

The process of joining the network required St. Francis to undergo thorough evaluation based on quality, service and operational criteria.

The primary goal of the Mayo Clinic Care Network is to help people gain the benefits of Mayo Clinic expertise close to home, ensuring that patients need to travel for care only when necessary.

The network, launched in 2011, has 22 member organizations based in Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Dakota and Wisconsin as well as Puerto Rico and Mexico.

Copyright 2013 WTVM. All rights reserved.