CSU honors Faculty, Students of the Year at Academic Awards Ceremony

CSU honors Faculty, Students of the Year at Academic Awards Ceremony

COLUMBUS, GA (WTVM) - Columbus State University handed out its highest annual academic awards Friday afternoon at its Scholastic Honors Convocation.

Finance professor Alan Tidwell was named CSU's Educator of the Year.

Tidwell's past and current teaching responsibilities at CSU include principles of real estate, investments, managerial finance, risk management and insurance, financial reporting and analysis, and quantitative analysis. He has also taught courses in real estate finance, real estate development, quantitative real estate analysis and real estate investment analysis.

He has published in the areas of mixed-use development, "green" commercial real estate, real estate mutual funds, credit ratings and housing, and he has research interests in mixed-asset portfolio construction, real estate valuation and corporate transparency.

At the convocation, Tidwell also received the USG Regents Teaching Excellence Award.

The Faculty Cup Award went to Angelin Shajan, a senior majoring in biology and minoring in chemistry with aspirations of becoming a physician. The Faculty Cup Award is an honor presented to an extremely high-achieving student nominated by the faculty.

Shajan is a member of Beta Beta Beta National Biological Honor Society and the current president of the American Medical Student Association. She is also a member of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars and Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society, and she recently had the opportunity to participate in a biology study abroad program in Belize.

Shajan said she chose Columbus State University because of her love for science.


Copyright 2015 WTVM. All rights reserved.