Muscogee County 'Teacher of the Year' honorees announced

Muscogee County 'Teacher of the Year' honorees announced

COLUMBUS, GA (WTVM) - The Muscogee County Educational Excellence Foundation (MEEF) announced 57 2018 'Teacher of the Year' honorees Wednesday.

Teachers throughout the county are being honored for devoting themselves to excellence in the classroom and for their phenomenal impact and influence on their students. The teachers were selected by their individual schools and will be acknowledged in a variety of ways throughout the year.

The honorees will have a breakfast in March and a gala will take place May 3.

MEEF is a nonprofit organization dedicated to fostering educational excellence by focusing on individual teachers who are innovative and exceptionally effective in their profession.

"We have one mission and that is to recognize and reward outstanding teachers. One of the ways we do that is with the 'Teacher of the Year program. We are delighted to honor these outstanding teachers who represent all of the many teachers that we have in the Muscogee County School District," says the executive director of MEEF, Marquette McKnight.

The foundation has awarded more than $2.2 million to innovative teachers through financial incentives in the Teacher of the Year program, the MEEF Grant program, and the MEEF Endowment Fund.

Copyright 2018 WTVM. All rights reserved. | For more news, download the WTVM app here.