Carver High teacher selected as finalist for 2019 Georgia Teacher of the year

Carver High teacher selected as finalist for 2019 Georgia Teacher of the year

COLUMBUS, GA (WTVM) – The Muscogee County School District has announced the finalist for the 2019 Georgia Teacher of the Year.

The State School Superintendent Richard Woods selected Dr. Stefan Lawrence as a finalist.

Lawrence, an English teacher at Carver High School, is one of ten finalists that were chosen from a pool of 150 applicants across the state.

According to the Georgia Department of Education, all finalists were chosen based on the strength of their essay responses submitted to a panel of judges that included teachers, past Georgia Teacher of the Year winners and finalists, administrators, and community leaders.

"We are very excited by Dr. Lawrence's selection as a top ten finalist, and congratulate him on this significant professional accomplishment. Having graduated from our school district and Columbus State University is certainly a point of pride for our community. I am confident that he will continue to represent our district well, and we wish him all the best as he competes to become Georgia's Teacher of the Year," said Superintendent Dr. David Lewis.

Each of the top ten finalists were previously selected as their school district's Teacher of the Year. Lawrence was named as the Muscogee Educational Excellence Foundation's (MEEF) Teacher of the Year in May 2016.

"You don't get into teaching for recognition, but when it comes, it is humbling. It has been an honor to serve Muscogee County in this capacity for the last eight years. I have enjoyed serving my community and am grateful for the support I have received from our school district, MEEF, and the community at-large," said Lawrence.

Lawrence has served as an English teacher and basketball coach at Carver High School for eight years. He has obtained an Educational Doctorate from the University of Georgia (2017), Master of Education from Columbus State University (2012), and Bachelor of Arts from Columbus State University (2009). He was also selected as a Harvard University Fellow, by MEEF, in 2017.

The Georgia Teacher of the Year will be announced by the Georgia Department of Education on May 19, 2018.

Copyright 2018 WTVM. All rights reserved.